February 15, 2022

The Honorable Mark Takano
House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs

The Honorable Jon Tester
Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs

The Honorable Mike Bost
Ranking Member
House Veterans Affairs Committee

The Honorable Jerry Moran
Ranking Member
Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs

Dear Chairmen Takano and Tester, and Ranking Members Bost and Moran:

In 2021, Frontiers of Freedom launched the Veterans Choice Initiative, a grassroots effort committed to supporting disabled veterans by protecting their right to choose how to best navigate the bureaucracy of the Veterans Administration and secure the disability benefits they rightly deserve. 

Providing access to high quality disability benefits support is one of our most important obligations to the brave men and women who have served this country. Unfortunately, the current government-run and volunteer system is both confusing and under-resourced, leaving veterans at a disadvantage when seeking the benefits, they are ethically, medically, and legally entitled to. 

As you look to set the Committee’s priorities for the New Year, we ask that you not repeat the mistakes of the past. 

In 2021, Preventing Crimes Against Veterans Act (S. 2141) was introduced in the Senate which in effect criminalized “unaccredited actors,” that wish to help veterans with their claims. This includes private consultants that provide necessary and life-changing assistance to millions of veterans around the country.  

These proposed changes will limit a veterans’ choice and leave the initiation phase of the claims solely on the backs of VSOs or veterans themselves. While VSOs are filled with well-meaning and sometimes qualified individuals and volunteers, most of the organizations do not have the manpower or expertise to handle the massive inflow that is expected over the next few years. 

This latest attempt built upon a 2019 bill that aimed to amend title 38 of the United States Code, to provide criminal penalties for individuals acting as agents or attorneys for the preparation, presentation, or prosecution of a claim. Thankfully, the initial bill was rightfully defeated. 

Our veterans have earned the right to choose their consultation and representation, regardless of Accreditation status, as they navigate a confusing system. 

As you consider reforms to the veterans’ benefits system in 2022, we ask that any legislation around this issue in Congress will ensure a veteran’s right to choose is not jeopardized.

Thank you for your consideration.


George Landrith, President
Frontiers of Freedom

Richard Manning, President
Americans for Limited Government

Charles Sauer, Founder & President
Market Institute

David Williams, President
Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Seton Motley, Founder & President
Less Government

James L. Martin, Founder/Chairman
60 Plus Association

Andrew Langer, President
Institute for Liberty 

Chuck Muth, President
Citizen Outreach

Saulius “Saul” Anuzis, President
60 Plus Association

David Wallace, Founder
Restore America’s Mission

Judson Phillips, Founder
Tea Party Nation

Ryan Ellis, President
Center for a Free Economy

Governor Mike Huckabee
Former Governor of Arkansas

C. Preston Noell III, President
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Gerard Scimeca, Chairman
Consumer Action for a Strong Economy

Nicholas Willis, President
Americans for Liberty & Security

Susan Taylor, President
Strengthening America for All 

John Cooper, President
Defending America Foundation 

Scott Vanandler, President
The Last Best Hope on Earth Institute

Mark Thomas, Founder
Freedom & Prosperity Caucus

U.S. Senator Larry E Craig (retired)
United States Senate Retired

Paul Caprio, Director
Patriotic Veterans

Steve Moore, Co-Founder
Committee to Unleash Prosperity

Horace Cooper, Director
Project 21 

Phil Kerpen, President
American Commitment 

James Taylor, President
Heartland Institute

Morton Blackwell, President
The Leadership Institute

The Honorable George K Rasley Jr
Managing Editor, ConservativeHQ.com

Elaine Donnelly, President
Center for Military Readiness

Karen Kerrigan, President & CEO
Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council

Martha Boneta, President
Vote America First

Becky Norton Dunlop, Director
Reagan Alumni Association

Bob Carlstrom, President
AMAC Action 

Ed Martin, President
Phyllis Schlafly Eagles 

Mario H. Lopez, President
Hispanic Leadership Fund

Bob McEwen
U.S. House Committee on Veteran’s Affairs 
Former Member, Ohio

Dee Stewart, President
Americans for a Balanced Budget

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com